2010 Commonwealth Games

2010 Commonwealth Games

The 2010 Commonwealth Games are the nineteenth edition of the Commonwealth Games, and the ninth to be held under that name. The Games are scheduled to be held in Delhi, India between 3 October and 14 October 2010. The games will be the largest multi-sport event conducted to date in Delhi and India generally, which has previously hosted the Asian Games in 1951 and 1982. The opening ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Delhi. It will also be the first time the Commonwealth Games will be held in India and the second time the event has been held in Asia (after 1998).

In addition to the Commonwealth Games, the city of Pune, India hosted the 3rd Commonwealth Youth Games between October 12 and 18, 2008. The Youth Games offered nine sports: athletics, badminton, boxing, shooting, swimming, table tennis, tennis, weightlifting and wrestling.

Mascot - Shera

Shera, mascot of the XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi, is the most visible face of the XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi. His name comes from the Hindi word Sher – meaning tiger. Shera truly represents the modern Indian. He is an achiever with a positive attitude, a global citizen but justifiably proud of his nation’s ancient heritage, a fierce competitor but with integrity and honesty. Shera is also a ‘large-hearted gentleman’ who loves making friends and enthusing people to ‘come out and play’.

In Indian mythology, the tiger is associated with Goddess Durga, the embodiment of Shakti (or female power) and the vanquisher of evil. She rides her powerful vehicle – the tiger – into combat, especially in her epic and victorious battle against Mahishasur, a dreaded demon.

Shera embodies values that the nation is proud of: majesty, power, charisma, intelligence and grace. His athletic prowess, courage and speed on the field are legendary. He is also a reminder of the fragile environment he lives in and our responsibility towards the protection of his ecosystem.

There are currently 71 nations planning to field teams at the 2010 Commonwealth Games. In alphabetical order, these nations are:

* Anguilla
* Antigua and Barbuda
* Australia
* Bahamas
* Bangladesh
* Barbados
* Belize
* Bermuda
* Botswana
* British Virgin Islands
* Brunei
* Cameroon
* Canada
* Cayman Islands
* Cook Islands
* Cyprus
* Dominica
* England
* Falkland Islands
* Gambia
* Ghana
* Gibraltar
* Grenada
* Guernsey
* Guyana
* India
* Isle of Man
* Jamaica
* Jersey
* Kenya
* Kiribati
* Lesotho
* Malawi
* Malaysia
* Maldives
* Malta
* Mauritius
* Montserrat
* Mozambique
* Namibia
* Nauru
* New Zealand
* Nigeria
* Niue
* Norfolk Island
* Northern Ireland
* Pakistan
* Papua New Guinea
* Saint Helena
* Saint Kitts and Nevis
* Saint Lucia
* Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
* Samoa
* Scotland
* Seychelles
* Sierra Leone
* Singapore
* Solomon Islands
* South Africa
* Sri Lanka
* Swaziland
* Tanzania
* Tokelau
* Tonga
* Trinidad and Tobago
* Turks and Caicos Islands
* Tuvalu
* Uganda
* Vanuatu
* Wales
* Zambia


Related Posts

Subscribe Our Newsletter